About us

Natura Mater is a company founded by a young and passionate team of professionals from Brussels. We’re helping the building sector to transition into a sustainable industry which respects both humankind and the environment.

 

On this page, you can get acquainted with the five members on our team. A killer team, with just enough idealism to want to change the world!

Natura%20Mater%20(2)_edited.jpg
 

The team

Jeremy Boomer

Jeremy

Jeremy studied architecture at ULB in Brussels and graduated with first-class honours and the prize for architecture. He then joined a Brussels-based architecture firm where he managed projects from beginning to end. In 2014 he put his compass away to become technical director of a general contracting company and in 2016 went on to found his own construction company alongside a property developer. After three good years, he looks to the future and now sees it’s time for a new challenge, closer to his beliefs and to the impending climate emergency.

Blanche Mommer

Blanche

Blanche is our legal counsel. Master of Law, lawyer at the Brussels Bar for 4 years, she harnesses the legal issues of companies, commercial relations with suppliers, partnerships and clients, commercialisation of products within the European area, regulations relating to product safety, different types of intellectual property, ... Blanche also knows the building sector in and out: how it works, but also its many flaws.

Camille Mommer

Camille

Camille is passionate about innovation and entrepreneurship. A Master in bio-engineering from the VUB (Belgium) in pocket, she started working for 3 years in financing of innovation. In 2014, she joined the lifetech.brussels cluster where she gained experience in the world of entrepreneurship. She coached dozens of entrepreneurs and develops a firm knowledge of the ecosystem that surrounds them. She then worked for Agoria on company networks and technical lobby portfolios. Camille is enthusiastic, passionate, and has a pragmatic approach.

Margaux Cambier

Margaux

Margaux is an architect with a degree from the Victor Horta Institute (Belgium) obtained in 2010. She developed her professional expertise through diverse collaborations. As an architect, in a residential architecture office ; as a project manager with a general contractor; and finally as project manager with a real-estate developer. Margaux has seen the world of construction from all angles and developed a strong ecological conscience, notably the values of sobriety, waste reduction, and sustainability.

Brendan Culley

Brendan

Brendan is a geographer and holds degrees from ULB (Belgium) and Utrecht (Netherlands). His academic path gave him many international perspectives on urban development and the ecological issues that manifest themselves in cities. In 2015, he joined the team of an urban renewal programme in Brussels led by a local authority. During this career in the public sector, he developed insights on urban development in Brussels, public policies, and the evolution of our modes of living and consumption.

 
sunset-and-dry-grass-3014040.jpg

Our vision

​Construction, an entire ecosystem

We see the construction sector as a set of players who act on matter and the environment. From its beginnings in a wheatfield, matter is moved, transformed and shaped, and ends up as a building material in a construction project. Natura Mater wishes to move the many players of the process closer to each other, to recreate a connection between earth and dwelling. Through this, Natura Mater will make the construction sector an ally in climate change mitigation and resilience.

The climate - a difficult context

The building sector is responsible for 40% of worldwide waste production. What’s more, building materials that are used for dwellings are often charged with chemicals and let out noxious gases (VOC). Many players in the construction and real-estate business would like to make their activities more sustainable but don’t know where to start: where to find the right solutions, how to implement them, and especially, without spending a fortune?

 

Natura Mater in action

Natura Mater provides building solutions and sustainable materials to professionals in the building sector. These materials are adapted to their needs, easy to implement, and cost effective. Starting from the baseline that each stakeholder has different needs, we target everyone separately so as to lift any barriers that might exist for the uptake of sustainability in real-estate projects.

À propos

Société fondée par une jeune équipe de Bruxellois passionnés, Natura Mater développe la transition du secteur de la construction vers une industrie durable et respectueuse de l'homme et de l'environnement.

Ci-dessous, découvrez les cinq membres de notre team. Une équipe de choc, avec juste ce qu'il faut d'idéalisme pour vouloir changer le monde !

Natura%20Mater%20(2)_edited.jpg
 

La team

Jeremy Boomer

Jeremy termine l’architecture à l’ULB avec grande distinction et le prix d’architecture. Il intègre ensuite une agence bruxelloise où il traitera des dossiers dans leur globalité. En 2014 il range son compas et devient directeur technique d’une entreprise générale puis dès 2016 il créera son entreprise de construction au côté d’un développeur immobilier. Après trois belles années, c’est avec un nouveau défi qu’il entrevoit son futur, plus proche de ses convictions et de l’urgence climatique.

Blanche Mommer

Blanche est notre conseil juridique. Maître en droit, avocate au Barreau de Bruxelles pendant 4 ans, elle maîtrise les enjeux juridiques d’une société, des relations commerciales avec les fournisseurs, les partenaires et les clients, de la commercialisation de produits au sein de l’espace européen, des réglementations en termes de sécurité des produits, des différents types de propriété intellectuelle. Blanche dispose également d’une bonne connaissance du fonctionnement du secteur de la construction, de son fonctionnement et de ses failles.

Camille Mommer

Camille est passionnée d’innovation et d’entreprenariat. Un master en bio-ingénierie de la VUB en poche, elle travaille 3 ans sur le financement de l’innovation. En 2014, elle rejoint le cluster lifetech.brussels où elle se forme au monde de l’entreprenariat. Elle coache des dizaines entrepreneurs et développe une très bonne connaissance de l’écosystème qui les entoure. Elle travaille actuellement chez Agoria sur des réseaux d’entreprises et des dossiers de lobby techniques. Camille est enthousiaste, passionnée et a une approche très pragmatique.

Margaux Cambier

Margaux est architecte diplômée de l'institut Victor Horta en 2010. Elle a développé son expertise professionnelle à travers diverses collaborations. En tant qu’architecte dans un bureau d’architecture résidentielle ; comme gestionnaire de projet dans une entreprise générale ; et finalement comme project manager pour un investisseur immobilier. Margaux a vu le monde de la construction sous tous les angles et a développé une forte conscience écologique, notamment des valeurs de sobriété, de réduction des déchets ou de durabilité.

Brendan Culley

Brendan est géographe diplômé de l’ULB et d’Utrecht (Pays-Bas). Son parcours académique lui a doté de nombreuses perspectives internationales sur le développement urbain et les nécessaires enjeux écologiques qui s’y manifestent. En 2015, il intègre la coordination d’un Contrat de quartier durable à Bruxelles. Tout au long de cette carrière qu'il se forge dans le service public, il développera son regard sur le développement urbain bruxellois, les politiques publiques, et les évolutions dans nos modes de vivre et de consommer.

 
sunset-and-dry-grass-3014040.jpg

Notre vision

La construction, tout un écosystème


Nous voyons le secteur de la construction comme un ensemble d'acteurs qui agissent sur la matière et sur l'environnement. De ses débuts dans un champ de blé, la matière voyage, est façonnée, jusqu'à finir comme matériau dans la construction d'un bâtiment. Natura Mater entend rapprocher ces nombreux acteurs, et ainsi recréer du lien entre terre et bâtiment pour faire du secteur de la construction un allié de la lutte contre le changement climatique.

Un contexte climatique difficile

Le secteur de la construction est responsable de 40% des émissions de CO2 et de 40% de la production de déchets à l’échelle mondiale. De plus, les matériaux de construction qui sont placés dans les habitations sont souvent chargés de produits chimiques et de gaz volatiles (COV). De nombreux acteurs de la construction aimeraient rendre leurs activités plus durables mais ne savent pas par où commencer : où trouver les bonnes solutions, comment les mettre en œuvre, et surtout, sans casser sa tirelire ?


Natura Mater en action

Natura Mater propose aux professionnels de la construction des solutions constructives et des matériaux durables qui sont adaptés à leurs besoins, faciles à implémenter et économiques. Partant du constat que chaque acteur du secteur a des besoins différents, nous nous nous adressons à eux de manière ciblée, de manière à lever les freins à la transition vers l'éco-construction dans les projets immobiliers.

 
 

©2020 par Natura Mater. Vers une transition durable du secteur de la construction.